What's Needed to Ride in Vermont?
You must have Snowmobile Liability Insurance, Trails Maintenance Assessment (TMA) decal and Club Membership to ride the VAST trail system in Vermont.
How Do I Proceed?
Snowmobiles must display a valid motor vehicle registration decal. Vermont is reciprocal of other states and provinces motor vehicle registrations.
To obtain a resident TMA, you must furnish a Legal Physical VT Address, NOT a Post Office Box number, or a current VT Drivers License. If you're an out-of-state VT property owner, you must furnish a copy of your current paid VT Property Tax Bill.
All snowmobiles operating on the VAST trail system are required to display a valid Trails Maintenance Assessment (TMA) decal.
The TMA is assigned to the snowmobile and allows you to ride the entire VAST trail system throughout the state. Club membership decals are required with most fees at $20.00. Each season, clubs obtain written permission for the use of the property owned by private landowners located on the VAST trail system and maintained my the local clubs.
Once you have completed all the above requirements, you will be able to enjoy the VAST Trail System state wide. Please remember that a portion of your registration fee goes directly to the maintenance of the VAST Trail System. This includes grooming, bridges, culverts, excavation, etc.
Need Adobe Acrobat?
Download the free Adobe Acrobat here and install.
Enforcement of Vermont Trails
The Vermont State Police, Bennington Sheriff's Department, Vermont State Fish and Game Wardens, and the US Forest Service patrol Woodford's trail system.Tickets will be written for expired registration and lack of TMA and club membership.The fine for each offense is much more than a TMA and club membership.
Minors Riding in Vermont - Changes In The Law
Legislation was passed during the fall of 2002 defing the necessary requirements for children 8 - 16 years of age to operate a snowmobile in Vermont:
- A child 8 years of age may take the Safety Course, however, they are not required to take the course until they are 12 years of age.
- A child must be at least 8 years of age to operate a snowmobile on the VAST Trail System. Between the ages of 8 and 11, they must be under the direct supervision of a parent or legal guardian and they are not required to have passed a certified safety course.
- Children between the ages of 12 - 15 must have completed and passed a certified Safety Course and they may operate a snowmobile on the VAST Trail System without direct supervision as long as they do not cross a public right-of-way. When crossing or traveling upon a public right-of-way, they must be under the direct supervision of an adult at least 18 years of age.
- Those individuals 16 years of age and older, born after July 1, 1983, must have completed and passed a certified Safety Course prior to operating a snowmobile on the VAST Trail System and they may do so without adult supervision.
Snowmobile Safety Courses
CLASSES ARE FREE, HOWEVER, GROOMER DONATIONS ARE ALWAYS APPRECIATED!
Home Study Course
The Vermont Snowmobile Home Study Course is provided for those students who are not able to complete a traditional classroom course.
Please check the course schedule and make every effort to attend a classroom course before applying for home study.
Steps to Complete the Home Study Course
- Download or have the manual mailed to you. (See below)
- Read and complete all questions in the manual.
- Contact a Certified Instructor in your area for a proctored final certification exam.
- For information concerning certified instructors in your area, please contact the Vermont State Police Recreational Enforcement & Education Unit by email - firstname.lastname@example.org or by telephone at 802.878.7111, Ext. 2211.
- To have a manual mailed to you, please send e-mail to email@example.com. Include in your e-mail your name, age and your mailing address.